Skip to main content

About the UAC

 Our Mission and our members


Photo credit: Donnie Nunley 
[CC BY 3.0 ( http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0)],
via Wikimedia Commons



WVU Assessment Council Mission

  • Facilitate and enhance communication among assessment leadership and within the University (e.g. reporting and sharing data and practices with all divisions as appropriate)
  • Act as a repository for assessment related information, instruction, resources, and data
  • Serve as a cross-campus forum for the exchange of ideas, information, and advice on methods, strategies, practices, and metrics of assessment
  • Keep the university community apprised of expectations for assessment, including expectations related to regional accreditation
  • Direct and develop special projects using assessment
  • Provide sustained attention on centralized, consistent, and systematic processes and policies across the University to reduce variability in assessment quality and engagement
  • Oversee, review, and comment upon program review policies, processes, and reports

UAC Membership

The UAC is composed of standing members as well as appointed faculty and staff representatives from the schools and colleges and divisional campuses and from administrative and functional units that support assessment practices.  Standing members represent positions that are central to university assessment and therefore occupy permanent seats on the UAC. Appointed members are those faculty and staff that have been designated as either central the success of on-going assessment initiatives or leaders in assessment within their own functional units. Appointed members will serve on the UAC for staggered, two-year terms.

Current Council Members

Chair

Louis Slimak, Director of Academic Excellence and Assessment; louis.slimak@mail.wvu.edu

Positions with Standing Representation

Paul Kreider, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs; paul.kreider@mail.wvu.edu

Katherine Karraker, Associate Provost for Graduate Academic Affairs; katherine.karraker@mail.wvu.edu

Barbara Copenhaver-Bailey, Director, Assessment and Research; barbara.copenhaver-bailey@mail.wvu.edu

Greg Ochoa, Dean of Academic Affairs, Potomac State; gregory.ochoa@mail.wvu.edu

Marcia Bastian, Instructional Designer and Assessment Coordinator, WVU Institute of Technology; marcia.bastian@mail.wvu.edu

Kelly Diamond, Head of the Office of Curriculum and Instructional Support, Libraries
kelly.diamond@mail.wvu.edu

David Hauser, Chair of the Faculty Senate Teaching and Assessment Committee; david.hauser@mail.wvu.edu

Ralph Utzman, Chair of the Faculty Senate Curriculum Committee; rutzman@hsc.wvu.edu

Nathalie Singh-Corcoran, Chair of the Faculty Senate General Education Foundations Committee; nathalie.singh-corcoran@mail.wvu.edu

Shirley Robinson, Administrative Assistant, Undergraduate Academic Affairs; shirley.robinson@mail.wvu.edu

Appointed Members

Christina DiBiase, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Dentistry; cdebiase@hsc.wvu.edu

Heather Henderson, Director of Assessment, School of Public Health; hhender1@hsc.wvu.edu

Graham Peace, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Undergraduate Programs, Business and Economics; graham.peace@mail.wvu.edu

Marie Abate, Professor of Clinical Pharmacy; mabate@hsc.wvu.edu

John Hendricks, Associate Dean of the College of Creative Arts; john.hendricks@mail.wvu.edu

Bernard Jones, Program Director of Assessment for Educator Preparation, College of Education and Human Services; bernard.jones@mail.wvu.edu

Ex Officio Members

Tracey Beckley, Executive Director of the Teaching and Learning Commons

Erin Kelley, Director of iDesign

Amy Kuhn, Director of iTeach

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Events