Skip to main content

Background Image for Header:

University Assessment Council

University Assessment Council (UAC) Goals

  • Facilitate and enhance communication among assessment leadership and within the University (e.g. reporting and sharing data and practices with all divisions as appropriate)
  • Act as a repository for assessment related information, instruction, resources, and data
  • Serve as a cross-campus forum for the exchange of ideas, information, and advice on methods, strategies, practices, and metrics of assessment
  • Keep the university community apprised of expectations for assessment, including expectations related to regional accreditation
  • Direct and develop special projects using assessment
  • Provide sustained attention on centralized, consistent, and systematic processes and policies across the University to reduce variability in assessment quality and engagement
  • Oversee, review, and comment upon program review policies, processes, and reports

UAC Membership

The UAC is composed of standing members as well as appointed faculty and staff representatives from the schools and colleges and divisional campuses and from administrative and functional units that support assessment practices.  Standing members represent positions that are central to university assessment and therefore occupy permanent seats on the UAC. Appointed members are those faculty and staff that have been designated as either central the success of on-going assessment initiatives or leaders in assessment within their own functional units. Appointed members will serve on the UAC for staggered, two-year terms.

Current UAC Members


Louis Slimak, Assistant Provost for Curriculum and Assessment

Positions with Standing Representation

  • Evan Widders, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs
  • Allison Dagen, Graduate Education and Life
  • Vicki Huffman, Faculty and Assessment Coordinator, WVU Keyser
  • Marcia Bastian, Director of Assessment and Instructional Development, WVU Institute of Technology
  • Chris Macdonald, Executive Director, Housing
  • Kelly Diamond, Head of the Office of Curriculum and Instructional Support, Libraries
  • Emily Murphy, Chair of the Faculty Senate
  • Ashlee Sowards, Chair of the Faculty Senate Teaching and Assessment Committee
  • Ednilson Bernardes, Chair of the Faculty Senate Curriculum Committee
  • Lesley Cottrell, Chair of the Faculty Senate General Education Foundations Committee
  • Erin Kelley, Director of Learning Experience Design
  • Robynn Shannon, Assistant Director of Assessment and Quality Assurance
  • Shirley Robinson, Administrative Assistant, Undergraduate Academic Affairs
Appointed Members
  • Heather Henderson, Director of Assessment, School of Public Health
  • Valerie Lastinger, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Eberly College of Arts and Sciences
  • Graham Peace, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Undergraduate Programs, Business and Economics
  • Marie Abate, Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
  • Dana Voelker, Assistant Professor, College of Physical Activity and Sport Sciences
  • John Hendricks, Associate Dean of the College of Creative Arts
  • Joshua Hertlein, Program Coordinator, College of Education and Human Services
  • Tracey Beckley, Assistant Dean for Teaching and Learning