Skip to main content

Background Image for Header:

Tuition Agreements

The Academic Common Market (ACM) is the most well-known tuition agreement that WVU has with other states. However, the university has additional agreements that can benefit certain students.

Unlike the ACM, students who qualify for the following reciprocity agreements have the in-state tuition rates applied automatically. Students do not need to apply to qualify for these rates. Be sure to follow the tuition reciprocity agreement guidelines if you participate.

Students are evaluated at the end of each semester to determine their continuance in the Reciprocity Agreements.  Tuition reassessment may occur a week or two after final grades are submitted to determine eligibility or continuance.

Garrett County, Maryland, Reciprocity Agreement

West Virginia University agrees to enroll residents of Garrett County, Maryland, as full/part-time baccalaureate degree seeking students at resident tuition and fee rates based on criteria established by West Virginia University at Its main campus In Morgantown and its Potomac State campus in Keyser.

Students must have an associate's degree from Garrett College. In cases where the student's time to baccalaureate degree completion would be extended unnecessarily by completing the associate degree requirements at Garrett College, the student may be considered for early transfer to West Virginia University without an associate's degree from Garrett College. Garrett College students may be accepted to West Virginia University under this agreement only If the student applies to be enrolled In a program not available at Frostburg State University. Garrett College students who wish to enroll In degree programs In engineering (with the exception of mechanical engineering) are also covered under this agreement.

Students in the tuition reciprocity agreement program must remain in good academic standing (2.0 or better GPA) and continue to make good academic progress toward entry into the major or completion of major program requirements. 

Students on probation or judged to not be making progress toward entry into or completion of the approved program will be removed from the reciprocity agreement program and charged out-of-state tuition.

Additional programs outside of the approved major's plan of study are not eligible for resident tuition rate.

Students taking summer classes may take up to 12 credit hours across both 6-week sessions. The courses must be major specific.

Deadlines for applying, reapplying or changing to a new major:

Fall Semester – July 31

Spring Semester – December 15

Summer Term – April 30

Ohio Reciprocity Agreement

As the result of a special agreement, students from Ohio who are fully admitted to certain majors can enroll at WVU and pay in-state tuition rates.

Students must be enrolled full time in an approved program as authorized by the reciprocity agreement.  Additional programs outside of the approved major's plan of study are not eligible for resident tuition. Students must be admitted to both the University and the particular major.

At the end of each semester students are evaluated to determine their continuance in the Ohio Reciprocity Agreements.  Tuition reassessment may occur a week or two after final grades are submitted to determine eligibility or continuance. In the case of not meeting requirements, the student's tuition and fees will be reassessed and the out of state rate will be assessed.

Switching majors

Students switching majors are to notify this office.

Doubling majoring

Doubling majoring under the Reciprocity Agreements is not allowed.  Students risk being removed and assessed the out of state tuition rate.

These programs include:

College of Creative Arts

  • Art History (BA)
  • Ceramics
  • Graphic Design
  • Intermedia/Photography
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Studio Art with Education Emphasis
  • Theatre (BA/BFA) 

College of Physical Activity and Sport Sciences

  • Athletic Coaching Education (B.S.P.Ed.)
  • Sport and Exercise Psychology (B. S .P.Ed. ) 

Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources

  • Mining Engineering (B.S.Min.E.)*
  • Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering (B.S.PNGE.)*
  • * In-state tuition only applicable for the junior and senior years.

Students who start at WVU as Engineering Track 1 or Engineering Track 2 are eligible if they intend to major in one of these degrees. Students must complete a set of 6 core courses with a C or better (MATH 155, CHEM 115/115L, ENGL 101, and ENGR 101, 102, and 191) with a 2.25 GPA in order to matriculate into a specific engineering discipline.

Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design

  • Agribusiness Management & Rural Development (BS/BS Agr)
  • Agricultural & Extension Education (BS Agr)
  • Agronomy (BS/BS Agr)
  • Animal & Nutritional Sciences (BS/BS Agr)
  • Biochemistry (BS)
  • Design Studies (BS)
  • Environmental & Natural Resource Economics (BS/BS Agr)
  • Environmental, Soil and Water Sciences (BSAGR) formally, Environmental Protection (BS/BS Agr ) 
  • Forest Resource Management (BS Forestry)
  • Horticulture (BS/BS Agr)
  • Human Nutrition & Food (BS)
  • Recreation, Parks, & Tourism Resources (BS Recreation)
  • Wildlife & Fisheries Resources (BS)Wood Science & Technology (BS) 

Eberly College of Arts and Sciences

  • Biochemistry (BA)
  • Chemistry (BA/BS)
  • Mathematics (BA/BS)
  • Physics (BA/BS)

Reed College of Media

  • Journalism